Cart 0

Rye Historical Society


Rye, New York is a fascinating place that sits in the crossroads of America’s history, both literally and figuratively. From native peoples to European exploration; colonialization to independence, emancipation to immigration, industrialization and transportation, prohibition and suburbanization, Rye played an integral part. In fact, the story of Rye is really the story of America.


About Us


The Rye Historical Society was founded in 1964 by a group of concerned citizens who banded together to preserve, restore and protect the Square House, an 18th century inn located on the Village Green in Rye.

After faithfully restoring the Square House, the Society has maintained it as a house museum. In 1980, Rye History received accreditation from the American Alliance of Museums. The Society acquired the Timothy Knapp House, Westchester County’s oldest surviving house, in 1992, restoring and opening it to the public in 2001 as an archival and research center.

The Society continues to serve the community through school visits and programs, vacation and summer camp programs, lectures, exhibits, walking tours and numerous family and community events throughout the year.




The Rye Historical Society is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization devoted to researching, preserving and celebrating Rye’s unique historic heritage. Our mission, stated in our Charter from the New York State Department of Education, is as follows:

  • To bring together people interested in the history of the area

  • To discover, collect and preserve materials which help to establish or illustrate the history of the area
  • To provide for the preservation of historic buildings, monuments and markers; and
  • To disseminate a knowledge of local history, and to foster a public awareness of, and pride in, the historic heritage of the Rye community.






Board of Trustees

Jeannette Cummins, President

Robert Kaplan, Vice President

Dawn Pike, Secretary

John D. Leonard, Treasurer

Mary Ellen Byrne • Andrew Ball • Laura Brett • Julianne Corbalis • Robert Cypher • Phil D'Ambrosio • Guy Dempsey • Emily Dorin • David Ellis • William Ernest • Jacqueline Jenkins • Robin Latimer • Victoria Meier  • Jannine Moran • Kendra Moran • Susan A. Morison • Luana Murno • Andrew Padovano • Jeanine Scott



Sheri Jordan, Executive Director

Gretchen Snyder, Director of Communications

Alison Relyea, Director of Museum Education & Programming

 Debbie Zingg, Museum Educator